Cloudron checks cloudron.io periodically and applies any platform updates automatically.
Cloudron always takes a complete backup of the platform data and all apps before applying an update. Should the backup creation fail, the update will not be performed.
Updates are GPG signed for security.
Cloudron Apps are installed from the Cloudron.io App Store. Cloudron checks the App Store for updates periodically and updates them based on the update settings.
Cloudron always takes a backup of an app before performing an update. Should the backup creation fail, the update will not be applied. If an update fails or the updated app misbehaves, the Cloudron administrator can rollback from a backup.
Some app updates are not applied automatically. This can happen if a new version of the app has removed
some features that may be relied upon. In such a case, the update has to be manually approved. This is simply
a matter of clicking the
Update button after reading the changelog.
The app update schedule can be set in the
Ap Updates section in the
To disable app updates entirely, select
Update manually. When automatic updates are disabled, the Cloudron
administrators will get an email notification as and when updates are available. Updates can then be
applied by clicking the update button.
Disabling automatic updates
The Cloudron teams tracks upstream app releases and pushes out tested updates for apps. Apps updates are applied automatically based on the update schedule. In addition, some app updates are not applied automatically when an app introduces big new features and breaking changes.
Some apps like the LAMP app expect the user to upload application code. This means that the Cloudron team cannot do comprehensive testing for an app update (for example, maybe a change in the PHP version breaks the app). For such situations, automatic updates can be disabled at a per-app level:
Rolling back an update
To rollback an app update, simply restore from a backup.
To rollback a Cloudron update, it can be restored from the backup.
What happens when subscription is stopped
When you cancel the subscription, the Cloudron and installed apps stop receiving updates. The server and the apps will continue to run forever. The subscription may be renewed at any time (we may contact you if we notice that you regularly cancel and renew your subscription).